The Office of Public Works

Pearse Museum

The Pearse Museum and St Enda’s Park was where Patrick Pearse lived and ran his innovative Irish-speaking school, Scoil Éanna, between 1910-16.

‘The Hermitage’ was originally built by Edward Hudson, State Dentist, who signed a lease on the lands in 1786. Over a century later, Patrick Pearse discovered the house while on a historical pilgrimage of sites associated with Robert Emmet. Set in nearly fifty acres of beautiful parkland, the museum tells the story of Patrick Pearse and his brother William, both of whom were executed for their part in the 1916 Rising.

Pearse Museum and St Enda’s Park are operated and managed by the Office of Public Works.

Please download the Code of Conduct for Dog Owners at this link.

What’s On

Click here for the full Pearse Museum calendar of events.

Aug 22 @ 10:00 am – 4:00 pm
10:00 am
    Come and meet the Beekeepers at St Enda’s in the Nature Room. Learn about our native Honey Bees and see them busy at work in a special observation Hive.
Pearse Museum
2:00 pm
A walk and talk around the Trees of St Enda’s Park accompanied by one of St Enda’s Horticultural staff. Meet in the Courtyard
Pearse Museum
Aug 23 @ 10:30 am – 10:45 am
10:30 am
Join us for a walk around St Enda’s Park to spot some of the Birds that nest in the grounds. Bring Binoculars if you have them. Dress appropriately for the weather on the day. Meet at[...]
Pearse Museum
7:00 pm
In this bi-lingual lecture Professor Regina Uí Chollatáin will consider Pearse as a Victorian journalist and outline his vision for Irish and cultural Revival. These varied insights enhance the public and private image of Pearse,[...]
Pearse Museum
2:00 pm
The lecture will look at the origins of the Irish kilt and associated garments such as the Léine (shirt) and Bráth (cloak), and their revival at the end of the 19th century. It will also[...]
Pearse Museum
12:00 pm
Monuments to a Mood – A special tour of the St. Enda’s Park Follies An historical tour of St. Enda’s Park, the former home of the 1916 leader Patrick Pearse, focusing on its fascinating collection of[...]
Pearse Museum
12:00 pm
Monuments to a Mood – A special tour of the St. Enda’s Park Follies An historical tour of St. Enda’s Park, the former home of the 1916 leader Patrick Pearse, focusing on its fascinating collection of[...]
Pearse Museum
3:00 pm
The Prodigal Daughter by Francis Sheehy Skeffington First performed in 1914, this comic play tells the story of an Irish suffragette who campaigns for women’s right to vote against the objections of her conservative family.[...]
Pearse Museum

Plan a Visit

Opening hours, location, transport and more.

Resources

Key historical documents relating to the property.

Exhibitions

View details of current and past exhibitions.

Education

Information for teachers and students.

News

Click here for the full Pearse Museum blog.

Marking the Centenary: Tree Planting

  Among the ways we marked the centenary of the deaths of Patrick and William Pearse this years was by planting two trees in the walled garden. The first tree was planted on the 3 May in memory of Patrick Pearse by...

Pearse’s Address to the Court

Pearse's court martial took place on 2 May, 1916 in the Gymnasium of Richmond Barracks. Below is the text of his address to the court: ''My sole object in surrendering unconditionally was to save the slaughter of the civil population and to save the lives of our...

Full captions and copyright information for all images can be found in the Galleries. If you would like to use any of the images you see on this website, please contact us.

Any links to external content on this website are there for reference purposes, and do not imply endorsement.